2009-2010 Yearbook becomes Pacemaker finalist


With many awards already under their belts, the Volsung staff is once again nominated as a finalist for the 2010 National Scholastic Press Association Pacemaker Award for the Atypical yearbook. Returning staff members Laura Nevarez, Marcello Mendoza, Carlos Ontiveros, Andrew Vega, Rhea Santos and Karissa Prudhomme waited for this year’s results which will be announced on April 17.

Roy Mendoza, Co-Editor-in-Chief/Copy Editor

After a long year of hard work and anticipation, the 09-10’ yearbook staff has been granted the honor of being a 2010 National Scholastic Press Association Pacemaker finalist.

The NSPA Yearbook Pacemaker contest, which had a total of 380 submissions, commenced mid-way last year and closed applicant opportunity on Jan. 18, 2011. After being reviewed by a team of specialists, 51 high schools were selected to enter the final round of the competition. Among the books chosen was Atypical, the product of the 09-10’ Volsung yearbook staff.

“Before the year began, I was really nervous about how the staff would work together, or if they’d even be able to work at all,” former Editor-in-Chief Tiare King said, “but after only a few months I realized that they all got along so well that working together wasn’t a problem at all.”

Though they did not know each other well, the yearbook team was prepared to take on anything that was coming their way. With both experienced photographers and writers, the members were able to find similarities amongst themselves, which allowed them to thoroughly communicate and befriend each other. Although there might have been differences throughout the year, the team had the ability to move forward and make sure that nothing hindered them from obtaining their prize.
“One thing I can truly say is that we all worked together,” current Editor-in-Chief Laura Nevarez said. “Even though it was stressful at times, we always managed to get our work done.”

Along side their achievement came yet another outstanding recognition: winning the first place award from the American Scholastic Press Association.

“It’s really exciting to be a part of a staff that can potentially win a high title in school journalism,” former writer Isabel Cardenas said. “It’s also great because all the hard work the whole ‘Atypical’ staff put into the book can be shown across the whole country.”

Though the final winners for the Pacemaker are yet to be announced, it’s safe to say that most, if not all the staff members, are anticipating the spring, JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in order to hear the final results.